the development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Battlefields Commission. This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to preserve the Historic Battlefields at Quebec City. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the Commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

National Capital Commission. This Commission, successor to the Federal District Commission, is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3), proclaimed February 6, 1959. Headed by a chairman, it is made up of 20 members, representing the ten provinces of Canada, and its work force fluctuates between 600 and 850, depending on the season.

The Commission is responsible for the acquisition, development and maintenance of public lands in the National Capital Region; it co-operates with municipalities by providing planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects of benefit to the region; and it advises the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 1,800-sq mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of State for Urban Affairs.

National Council of Welfare. The National Council of Welfare consists of 21 private citizens, drawn almost equally from organizations of consumers of welfare services and from institutions involved, directly or indirectly, in the provision of welfare services. In the former category are members of low income and welfare rights groups and of organizations of native people, both Indian and Métis. In the latter category are persons involved in the social service delivery system, at both the staff and volunteer levels, and in the field of social work education.

The role of the Council is to advise the Minister of National Health and Welfare on matters related to welfare. The Office of the National Council of Welfare acts as a supportive secretariat to the Council and provides a communication and liaison link between organizations of welfare consumers and the program activities of the department.

National Design Council. The National Design Council was established by Act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The Council makes recommendations on design policies and the planning of programs for the furtherance of design in Canada to be implemented through departments and agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies. Programs formally recognized by the Council are identified under the title of "Design Canada". The Council has 17 members appointed by the Governor in Council and reports through its chairman to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

National Energy Board. This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6) for the purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of seven members, is responsible for regulating the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the import of motor gasoline and motor gasoline-blending components, the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which power is exported or imported. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. This Council was established in 1972 under the National Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65). The Council consults with producers, commodity boards, and provincial and federal governments and co-ordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry.

The Council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, two full-time and two part-time members, appointed by the Governor in Council and is directly responsible to the Minister of Agriculture. Council headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members — a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is chairman of the Board, three members from the Public Service of Canada and five members from outside the Public Service. The Board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations". The Board is responsible for the production and processing of films for government departments. Its head office is located in Ottawa and its operations are carried out in Montreal.